advertisement
  • Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort & Spa at Gainey Ranch (Scottsdale; www.scottsdale.hyatt.com; tel. 800/554-9288): Contemporary architecture, dramatic landscaping, a water playground with its own beach, a staff that's always ready to assist you, good restaurants, and even gondola rides -- it all adds up to a lot of fun at one of the most smoothly run resorts in Arizona.
  • Camelback Inn, a JW Marriott Resort & Spa (Scottsdale; www.camelbackinn.com; tel. 800/242-2635): The Camelback Inn, opened in 1936 and kept up-to-date with regular renovations, is today one of the few Scottsdale resorts that retains an Old Arizona atmosphere while at the same time offering a wide range of modern amenities.
  • The Phoenician (Scottsdale; www.thephoenician.com; tel. 800/888-8234): This Xanadu of the resort world is brimming with marble, crystal, and works of art, and with staff seemingly around every corner, the hotel offers guests impeccable service. Camelback Mountain looms above the resort's lush grounds.
  • Fairmont Scottsdale (Scottsdale; www.fairmont.com/scottsdale; tel. 800/344-4758): The Moorish styling and numerous fountains and waterfalls of this resort create a setting made for romance. A beautiful spa, a challenging golf course, and a superb modern steakhouse top it off.
  • Four Seasons Resort Scottsdale at Troon North (Scottsdale; www.fourseasons.com/scottsdale; tel. 888/207-9696): Located in north Scottsdale amid a jumble of giant granite boulders, this is the most luxurious resort in the Phoenix area. The setting is dramatic, the accommodations are spacious, and one of Arizona's top golf courses is next door.
  • Arizona Biltmore (Phoenix; www.arizonabiltmore.com; tel. 800/950-0086): Combining discreet service and the architectural styling of Frank Lloyd Wright, the Biltmore has long been one of the most prestigious resorts in the state. This is a thoroughly old-money sort of place, though it continues to keep pace with the times.
  • InterContinental Montelucia Resort & Spa (Paradise Valley; www.icmontelucia.com; tel. 888/627-3010): Set at the foot of Camelback Mountain, this compact boutique resort draws on Spain's famed Alhambra for architectural inspiration and feels exceedingly exotic. The location is convenient to both Phoenix and Scottsdale.
  • Enchantment Resort (Sedona; www.enchantmentresort.com; tel. 800/826-4180): A breathtaking setting in a red-rock canyon makes this the most unforgettable resort in Arizona. If you want to feel as though you're truly vacationing in the desert, this place fits the bill. Guest rooms are constructed in a pueblo architectural style, and the spa is one of the finest in the state.
  • The Ritz-Carlton, Dove Mountain (Marana; www.ritzcarlton.com/dovemountain; tel. 800/241-3333): Set amid saguaro-covered hills, this luxury resort 45 minutes outside Tucson feels as though it is in a national park. The resort's Western ranch styling, desert landscaping, and access to miles of hiking trails make it a superb place to experience the desert.
  • Loews Ventana Canyon Resort (Tucson; www.loewshotels.com/hotels/tucson; tel. 800/234-5117): With the Santa Catalina Mountains rising in the backyard and a little waterfall steps away from the lobby, this is Tucson's most dramatic resort. Contemporary styling throughout makes constant reference to the desert setting.

Note: This information was accurate when it was published, but can change without notice. Please be sure to confirm all rates and details directly with the companies in question before planning your trip.