advertisement

Although Moab has plenty for the do-it-yourselfer, some 50 local outfitters offer guided excursions of all kinds, from lazy canoe rides to hair-raising jet-boat and four-wheel-drive adventures. The list below shows some of the major companies that can help you fully enjoy this beautiful country, and you can get additional recommendations at the Moab Information Center. All are located in Moab, zip code 84532. Advance reservations are often required. It's best to check with several outfitters before deciding on one; in addition to asking about what you'll see and do and what it costs, it doesn't hurt to make sure the company is insured and has the proper permits with the various federal agencies. Also ask about its cancellation policy, just in case.

Adrift Adventures -  378 N. Main St., Box 577;  tel. 800/874-4483, 435/259-8594;  www.adrift.net

Canyon Voyages Adventure Co. - 211 N. Main St.;  tel. 800/733-6007, 435/259-6007;  www.canyonvoyages.com

Dan Mick's Guided Jeep Tours - 600 Mill Creek Dr., Box 1234;  tel. 435/259-4567;  www.danmick.com

Escape Adventures Moab Cyclery, - 391 S. Main St.;  tel. 800/596-2953, 702/596-2953;  www.escapeadventures.com

Magpie Adventures Cycling Tours - P.O. Box 1496;  tel. 800/546-4245, 435/259-4464;  www.magpieadventures.com

Moab Adventure Center - 225 S. Main St.;  tel. 866/904-1163, 435/259-7019;  www.moabadventurecenter.com

Moab Rafting Co. - Box 801;  tel. 800/746-6622, 435/259-7238;  www.moab-rafting.com

Navtec Expeditions - 321 N. Main St., Box 1267;  tel. 800/833-1278, 435/259-7983;  www.navtec.com

Sheri Griffith Expeditions - 2231 S. U.S. 191, Box 1324;  tel. 800/332-2439, 435/259-8229;  www.griffithexp.com

Tag-A-Long Expeditions - 452 N. Main St.;  tel. 800/453-3292, 435/259-8946;  www.tagalong.com

Western Spirit Cycling  - 478 Mill Creek Dr.;  tel. 800/845-2453, 435/259-8732;  www.westernspirit.com


Note: This information was accurate when it was published, but can change without notice. Please be sure to confirm all rates and details directly with the companies in question before planning your trip.