advertisement

Excavation alongside the Château Frontenac took place from 2005 to 2009 as part of a project to perform maintenance work on the promenade and the fortification wall beneath it. Remnants of forts and other buildings dating back to 1620 were unearthed, and visitors can now stroll through the site in warm weather on self-directed walks, with signs explaining the significance of each item. Parks Canada staff is on-site to answer questions.