These stairs connect Terrasse Dufferin at the top of the cliff with rue Sous-le-Fort at the base. The name translates to "Breakneck Stairs," and they lead -- very steeply, although hardly neck-break-inducing anymore -- from Haute-Ville to the Quartier du Petit-Champlain in Basse-Ville. A stairway has existed here since the settlement began. Nestled along the northern side of the steps (right side if going downward) are quaint bistros and even a chocolate shop. In 1698, the town council had to explicitly forbid citizens from taking their animals up or down the stairway, and those who didn't comply were punished with a fine.
- Leslie Brokaw, Erin Trahan, Matthew Barber