advertisement

Tours & Excursions to Gwaii Haanas National Park Reserve

By far the easiest and most convenient way of visiting Gwaii Haanas is by joining a guided tour. Outfitters must be registered with park officials; the list of authorized tour operators is the best place to start shopping for expeditions into the park. Note that the park entry fee of C$20 per day may or may not be included in the cost of tour packages, so ask when booking.

Many outfitters, such as Butterfly Tours Great Expeditions (tel. 604/740-7018; www.butterflytours.bc.ca) -- alternately booked through Great Expeditions (tel. 800/663-3364 or 604/257-2040; www.greatexpeditions.com) -- offer kayaking packages that suit every age and experience level; Butterfly's 8-day tours start at C$2,480. Longtime sea-kayak outfitter Ecosummer Expeditions (tel. 800/465-8884 or 250/674-0102; www.ecosummer.com) offers 10-day trips to Gwaii Haanas, with prices starting at C$2,425. Pacific Rim Paddling Company (tel. 250/384-6103; www.pacificrimpaddling.com) has 7-day kayak trips to the park, with prices from C$2,095.

Sailing into Gwaii Haanas is another popular option, and most sailboat operators also have kayaks aboard for guests' use. Bluewater Adventures (tel. 888/877-1770 or 604/980-3800; www.bluewateradventures.ca) offers 8-day tours starting at C$4,200. Ocean Light II Adventures (tel. 604/328-5339; www.oceanlight2.bc.ca) offers 8-day Haida Gwaii sailings on a 22m (72-ft.) boat for C$3,500.

Inland Air Charters (tel. 888/551-4222 or 250/559-4222; www.inlandair.bc.ca) offers sightseeing seaplane flights to Hot Springs Island and SGang Gwaay 'Ilnagaay. The latter trip includes a landing at Rose Bay and a 20-minute boat ride to the ancient village, plus a guided tour. You need to charter the entire plane, at a cost of C$3,420, but the cost can be divided by up to five passengers; check the website, as weight restrictions may apply.

Diving charters around the islands, but not in Gwaii Haanas, can be arranged through Emerald Sea Sail and Scuba (tel. 250/635-5818; www.qcislands.net/emeraldsea).

Note: This information was accurate when it was published, but can change without notice. Please be sure to confirm all rates and details directly with the companies in question before planning your trip.