One of three separate museums that are known collectively as Waterford Treasures, the Bishop’s Palace focuses on life in the city from 1700 until the mid-20th century. The collection covering the 18th century is by far the most impressive, including furniture, art, fashion, and some exquisite glass and silverwork. The Georgian drawing room is dominated by Willem Van der Hagen’s fascinating 1736 landscape painting of Waterford City—the oldest landscape of an Irish city in existence—depicting long-vanished Waterford landmarks such as the medieval Christ Church Cathedral, demolished in 1773. Appropriately enough, given its close proximity to the famous factory, the museum also holds the earliest surviving pieces of Waterford Crystal, including a decanter dating from 1789. The Bishop’s Palace, itself an elegant example of Georgian architecture, was built by Richard Cassels (1690–1751), who was also the architect of Leinster House ★ in Dublin.