It might seem like stretching a point to speak of regions in a land as small as Luxembourg. Rest assured the Luxembourgers don't agree! Indeed, they recognize no fewer than five distinctive regions: The central Bon Pays (Good Country), comprising Luxembourg City and its environs; the Luxembourg Ardennes; the Mullerthal (also known as "Little Switzerland"); the Moselle, along the Moselle River; and the Terres Rouges (Red Earth, or Red Rocks) country. Once you get to know the place you'd have to agree they're right.

While elements of all five regions are covered here, the emphasis is on Luxembourg City, the Ardennes, and the Moselle Valley. These three areas are where most visitors spend their time.



In the heart of the rich farmlands of the Bon Pays, a rolling plateau traversed by narrow valleys, Luxembourg City is the Grand Duchy's only city. An attractive mixture of historical interest and contemporary charm, it was for centuries a thorn in Europe's side. The "Gibraltar of the North" occupies a natural fortress, and the immensely powerful fortifications constructed around it by a parade of rulers made it a tough proposition to assault. These were dismantled in 1867. Today, parks cover ground once occupied by forts.

Les Ardennes

The forested Luxembourg Ardennes, in the north, part of a range of hills gouged by narrow rivers like the Our and the Sûre, is a landscape of scenic beauty.


La Moselle

In the southeast, this is Luxembourg's stretch of the Moselle River valley, with its celebrated riverside vineyards and wineries.

Note: This information was accurate when it was published, but can change without notice. Please be sure to confirm all rates and details directly with the companies in question before planning your trip.