advertisement
If you’re in town to see one of the mega-concerts, you probably already know to go to Radio City Music Hall (www.radiocity.com), Barclays Center (www.barclayscenter.com), Madison Square Garden (www.madisonsquarden.com), Forest Hills Stadium (http://foresthillsstadium.com), or Jones Beach (www.jonesbeach.com). Added to that list are two new houses. The Coney Island Amphitheater (www.coneyislandlive.com) is a 5,000-seat state-of-the-art outdoor (but covered) venue that’s steps off the boardwalk. Brooklyn Steel, which opened mid-2017, seats 1800 indoors and has hosted The Decembrists, LCD Soundsystem and Elvis Costello. For country music fans, there’s now Opry City Stage (www.oprycitystage.com), and off-shoot of the Grand Old Opry. It seems to get mostly cover bands, though occasionally up-and-coming talent also play here, right in Times Square.  For slightly smaller, but still rewarding, concerts with artists like Veruca Salt, The Strokes, or The Killers, your best strategy is to see what’s on the roster at the following well-respected venues:

  •  Bowery Ballroom, 6 Delancey St. (at the Bowery). www.boweryballroom.com. [tel] 212/533-2111. Subway: F to Delancey St.; J, M, or Z to Bowery.
  • Highline Ballroom, 431 W. 16th St. (btw. Ninth and Tenth aves.). www.highlineballroom.com. [tel] 212/414-5994. Subway: A, C, E, or L to 14th St.
  • Irving Plaza, 17 Irving Place (1 block west of Third Ave. at 15th St.). www.irvingplaza.com. [tel] 212/777-1224 or 212/777-6800. Subway: L, N, Q, R, 4, 5, or 6 to 14th St./Union Square.
  • Music Hall of Williamsburg, 66 N. Sixth St., Williamsburg, Brooklyn (btw. Kent and Wythe aves.). www.musichallofwilliamsburg.com. [tel] 212/260-4700. Subway: L to Bedford Ave.
  • Terminal 5, 610 W. 56th St. (btw. Eleventh and Twelfth aves.). www.terminal5nyc.com. [tel] 212/260-4700. Subway: A, B, C, D, or 1 to 59th St./Columbus Circle.

You'll find complete reviews on the smaller music clubs in the Best Nightlife listings on this website.

Note: This information was accurate when it was published, but can change without notice. Please be sure to confirm all rates and details directly with the companies in question before planning your trip.