This handsome white chapel was built in 1868 by Ebenezer Bryce (for whom Bryce Canyon National Park was named) and Lorenzo and Erastus Snow (for whom Snow Canyon State Park was named). The settlers of the Pine Valley logging and saw-milling community wanted to build a church that would also function as a school and community building. Bryce was approached to design it, and because of his experience as a shipbuilder, he laid out the structure as an upside-down boat. Each of the walls was constructed flat on the ground, then lifted up and tied at the corners with strips of rawhide. The chapel was constructed of local pine and ponderosa, and set on a foundation of granite and red limestone.