This charming, English-style Regency cottage with a three-sided veranda was built from 1836 to 1837 to take advantage of the view of Lake Ontario and the Humber River. Today, it's set amid downtown's soaring office towers, but in the 1830s, it was considered way out in the country and a bother to travel to during the harsh winters. In 1873, the owner, a Toronto surveyor and architect named John Howard, donated the house and surrounding land to the city in return for an annual salary. That created the impressive and expansive High Park, a great recreational area. Don't miss the lovely offerings of the on-site, historic food program.