Sitting on the little island of San Giorgio Maggiore across from Piazza San Marco, this church is one of the masterpieces of Andrea Palladio, the great Renaissance architect from nearby Padua. Most known for his country villas built for Venice’s wealthy merchant families, Palladio designed this church in 1565 and it was completed in 1610. To impose a classical front on the traditional church structure, Palladio designed two interlocking facades, with repeating triangles, rectangles, and columns that are harmoniously proportioned. Founded as early as the 10th century, the church had its interior reinterpreted by Palladio with whitewashed stucco surfaces, an unadorned but harmonious space. The main altar is flanked by two epic paintings by Tintoretto, “The Fall of Manna,” to the left, and the more noteworthy “Last Supper” to the right, famous for its chiaroscuro. Accessed by free guided tour only (usually Apr–Oct only, times vary), the adjacent Cappella dei Morti (Chapel of the Dead) contains Tintoretto’s “Deposition,” and the upper chapel contains Carpaccio’s St. George Killing the Dragon”. To the left of the choir is an elevator that you can take to the top of the 1791 campanile—for a charge of 6€—to experience an unforgettable view of the island, the lagoon, and the Palazzo Ducale and Piazza San Marco across the way.
San Giorgio Maggiore
On the island of San Giorgio Maggiore, across St Mark’s Basin from Piazza San Marco.
Our Rating Hours Daily 9am–7pm Apr–Oct, 8:30am–6pm Nov–Mar. Transportation Vaporetto: Take the Giudecca-bound vaporetto (no. 82) on Riva degli Schiavoni and get off at the 1st stop, San Giorgio Maggiore Phone 041-5227827 Prices Free admission.