In an area rich in archaeological sites, this center cleverly links them all together. The center is in a castle that was built in 1480 by Diarmaid O'Dea on a rocky outcrop of land. Like many others, it was badly damaged by Cromwell's gang, and hundreds of years would pass before it would be restored and opened to the public in 1986. Today it holds good exhibitions on the history of the area, and acts as a starting point for a trail that wanders through the 25 historical and archaeological sites nearby, including a church founded by St. Tola in the 8th century, with a unique doorway with a border of 12 heads carved in stone. The O'Deas, the former chieftains of the area, are buried underneath it. There's also a round tower from the 10th or 12th century, a 12th-century high cross, a holy well, a 14th-century battlefield, and a stone fort believed to date from the Iron Age.