1691 On June 13, feast day of St. Anthony of Padua, San Antonio River was discovered and named by the Spanish; governor of Spanish colonial province of Texas makes contact with Coahuiltecan Indians.

1718 Mission San Antonio de Valero (later nicknamed the Alamo) founded; presidio San Antonio de Béxar established to protect it and other missions to be built nearby.

1720 Mission San José founded.

1731 Missions Concepción, San Juan Capistrano, and Espada relocated from East Texas to San Antonio area; 15 Canary Island families, sent by Spain to help populate Texas, establish the first civil settlement in San Antonio.


1793-94 The missions are secularized by order of the Spanish crown.

1820 Moses Austin petitions Spanish governor in San Antonio for permission to settle Americans in Texas.

1821 Mexico wins independence from Spain.

1835 Siege of Béxar: first battle in San Antonio for Texas independence from Mexico.

1836 The Alamo falls after 13-day siege by Mexican general Santa Anna; using "Remember the Alamo!" as a rallying cry, Sam Houston defeats Santa Anna at San Jacinto. Republic of Texas established.

1845 Texas annexed to the United States.


1861 Texas secedes from the Union.

1876 Fort Sam Houston established as new quartermaster depot.

1877 The railroad arrives in San Antonio, precipitating new waves of immigration.

1880s King William, first residential suburb, begins to be developed by German immigrants.

1939-40 Works Project Administration builds River Walk, based on plans drawn up in 1929 by architect Robert H. H. Hugman.

1968 HemisFair exposition -- River Walk extension, Convention Center, Mansión del Río, and Hilton Palacio del Río completed for the occasion, along with Tower of the Americas and other fair structures.


1988 Rivercenter Mall opens.

1989 Premier of the newly refurbished Majestic Theatre.

1993 Alamodome, huge new sports complex, completed.

1995 Southbank and Presidio complexes open on the river.

1998 Opening of the Nelson A. Rockefeller Center for Latin American Art, a three-story, $11-million addition to the San Antonio Museum of Art; reopening of the Empire Theatre.

1999 San Antonio Spurs outgrow the Alamodome; funding approved for the new SBC Center. Spurs win the NBA championship.

2001 Completion of Convention Center expansion.


2002 Opening of SBC Center, new home to the Spurs, the rodeo, and more; now called AT&T center.

2003 Spurs win the NBA championship.

2005 Spurs win the NBA championship again.

2006 Large Toyota plant opens. First pickup truck rolls off the line.

2008 AT&T moves corporate headquarters from San Antonio to Dallas.

2010 San Antonio's City Council approves smoking ban.

Note: This information was accurate when it was published, but can change without notice. Please be sure to confirm all rates and details directly with the companies in question before planning your trip.