The Ionian Islands (which the Greeks know as the Heptanissi, or "Seven Islands") include Corfu (Kerkira), Paxos (Paxoi), Levkas (Lefkas, Lefkada), Ithaka (Ithaki), Kefalonia (Kefallinia, Cephalonia), and Zakinthos (Zakynthos, Zante); the seventh, Kithira (Cythera, Cerigo). Located off Greece's northwest coast (except for Kithera), the Ionians offer some of the country's loveliest natural settings, including beaches, a fine selection of hotels and restaurants, a distinctive history and lore, and some unusual architectural and archaeological remains.